The author of A Song of Ice and Fire (the book series that GOT is based on) feels the same way too. In a heartwarming post that brought tears to my eyes, George R. R. Martin shared his overall thoughts on the years that have come and gone being a part of Game of Thrones.  You can click here to check out his full post.  It is hard to believe it is over, if truth be told.   The years have gone past in the blink of an eye.  Can it really have been more than a decade since my manager Vince Gerardis set up a meeting at the Palm in LA, and I sat down for the first time with David Benioff and D.B. Weiss for a lunch that lasted well past dinner?  I asked them if they knew who Jon Snow’s mother was. Fortunately, they did. That was how it started.  It ended last night. I had no clue, that afternoon at the Palm, that I was about to embark on a journey that would change my life….. There was no way to know that this one was going to be different, that this pilot would not only be shot,  but would go on to become the most successful show in the history of HBO, win a record number of Emmy Awards, become the most popular (and most pirated) show in the world, and transform a group of talented but largely unknown actors into major celebrities and stars.   Even less did I imagine that I would somehow become a celebrity as well… and if truth be told, I’m still not sure how that happened. It has been a wild ride, to say the least. I want to thank people, but there are so many…..”

George R. R. Martin’s post brought tears to my eyes. The shows and the books have been so important to me for a number of reasons (an article for another day, perhaps?). For those of you who are looking up at the sky and screaming “David Benioff and D. B. Weiss ruined everything” or that “George R. R. Martin probably hates the ending,” know that that isn’t true. I’m sure Martin has some criticisms too, but if his touching post is any indication it’s that he loves and appreciates what Benioff & Weiss and all the cast and crew involved have done with his masterful source material.

George R  R  Martin Bids Farewell to Game of Thrones in Emotional Post - 98