Recently, THR got the chance to sit down with the actress who plays Sophie, Zazie Beetz to ask her about that scene among other things. When asked if there are any differences between the Sophie in Arthur’s mind and the real Sophie, Beetz said:

Having anybody outside of that just even say, ‘Here, we’re an equal. This sucks for the both of us, doesn’t it?’ is such a validating experience for him, especially coming from a woman, as he doesn’t have an opportunity to have any kind of romantic endeavors just due to his state. I think it means so much to him that he overemphasizes what it meant. The woman he has in his mind is, of course, different from the woman that she is. Realistically, I don’t think it would work between them.” Beetz was also asked if she had a discussion with Joker director Todd Phillips on rewarding the viewer during a second viewing since the reveal would already be in viewers’ minds. She said: So, to find her in this iteration being partially a fantasy, we didn’t really talk much about the second viewing, but I feel like she’s a fruition of all these different versions we tested out and put the hats on of, before landing on this. I have my interpretation of it all, but I don’t know if I necessarily want to publicly share it. What makes it more interesting is dissecting your own version of it. But, no, I wouldn’t say we specifically, or overtly, talked about any Easter eggs to watch out for.